LOLMDS Title Fight Becoming One For The History Books

Posted by Shannon Bolin on

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has risen to become one of the premier Dirt Track Racing Series in the United States. Battling the World of Outlaw Late Models for the number one spot in the nation, the division has grown leaps and bounds over the past decade. The series has competed since the beginning of 2017, across many states and at many different racing venues, to come down to one last race to see who comes home with the 2017 championship.

Dirt Track Racing legends Tim McCreadie, Josh Richards and Scott Bloomquist lead the charge, all separated by less than 80 points heading into the final event. With already a lot of buzz around the championship finale, due to it becoming the first "Throwback Weekend," in the division's history, the championship battle lends, even more, attention to an already exciting race.

In 2016, Scott Bloomquist ran away with the championship fight. Having one of his better seasons, the famous black zero proved all the naysayers wrong in taking home yet another title. So far this season, the Tennessee resident has parked his famed midnight black paint scheme in victory-lane many times, mostly in big events, including the 2017 Dirt Late Model Dream. Bloomer will need a lot to happen in this weekend's championship finale, but don't count the veteran out.

Tim McCreadie and Josh Richards join Bloomquist in the title fight this weekend, each with a chip on their shoulder for different reasons. McCreadie enters the weekend trying to prove he is one of the greatest drivers to ever sit behind the wheel of a Dirt Car, and wrapping up the championship this weekend could do just that. Richards is here to prove he can get it done at this level, after winning many WoO titles, he wants to show that the LOLMDS is not too high of a state for him. The Rocketman comes into the weekend trailing McCreadie by just over forty points and will look to capture that championship if Tim slips up at any point.

No matter who wins the title this weekend at the 37th Annual Rhino Ag Dirt Track World Championship at Portsmouth Raceway Park, it has been a historical championship fight this season.

Who's your pick to win it all?

← Older Post Newer Post →